Skip to main content

Past Provosts

Stanford University inaugurated its first provost in 1952. Over the past decades, the office has been held by three future presidents of the University as well as other distinguished Stanford names.

Provost of Stanford University
1952-1955 Douglas M. Whitaker
1955-1965 Frederick E. Terman
1967-1970 Richard W. Lyman
1971-1978 William F. Miller
1979 Gerald Lieberman
1979-1980 Donald Kennedy
1980-1984 Albert M. Hastorf
1984-1992 James N. Rosse
1992-1993 Gerald Lieberman
1993-1999 Condoleezza Rice
1999-2000 John Hennessy
2000- 2017 John Etchemendy
2017-2023 Persis Drell
2023- Jenny Martinez